Rowe backs out of attending memorial service for Michael Jackson

By Calvin Palmer

Will she or won’t she? The question has been burning on people’s lips for days. Some have even missed sleep worrying whether Michael Jackson’s ex-wife will attend the memorial service.

They can now rest easy. Today, an attorney for Debbie Rowe says she is backing out of plans to attend.

Rowe, the mother of Jackson’s two oldest children, had originally planned to be at tomorrow’s memorial service at the Staples Center.

Rowe’s attorney, Marta Almli, said her attendance would be “an unnecessary distraction” and that Rowe will “celebrate Michael’s memory privately”.

Quite how she would be an “unnecessary distraction” in what is likely to be a Barnum and Bailey event escapes me.

My attorney will not be issuing a statement on my behalf as to why I will not be attending, purely and simply because I do not have one.

But if you want to know the reason, I cannot be bothered. I am one of the few people in the western hemisphere whose life has been completely untouched by Michael Jackson, apart from the loathing I had for the Jackson Five.

And the same goes for Madonna and all those other “pop” acts that periodically sweep across the world on a wave of hype.

However, I will feel differently when the members of Abba quit this mortal coil. Now, they truly were a class act.

[Based on a report by the Associated Press.]

Add to Technorati Favorites

4 Comments

Filed under Media, Music, News

4 responses to “Rowe backs out of attending memorial service for Michael Jackson

  1. thetrumor

    Dont believe the hype! I to remeber anothe side of Mike Jack that wasn’t very iconic
    check it out:

    http://thetrumor.wordpress.com/

  2. calvininjax

    I don’t. The whole affair is a matter of supreme indifference to me.

    Although it does help fill news pages and gives the TV chatterers something to chat about.

  3. zelda

    Can’t say I “loathed” the Jackson Five….but I can say they didn’t impress me one way or the other.
    Michael’s talent was apparent but he was also wacky as hell. Come on now……….
    I do think that old Joe Jackson was a devil and drove his kids like a wagon master with only himself in his final plan.
    Bastard.
    It’s all just a zoo out there.Old Sharpton and Jesse Jackson make me sick.They have to showboat any time a black person makes the news.Gaawd!
    Well….now we can just sit back and watch the parade of fools.
    Enough………………

  4. zelda

    Abba can do no wrong………my all time faves.
    Right on Calvin.

Leave a Reply

