Images of home — Stoke

By Calvin Palmer

It is Cup Final week and to mark Stoke City reaching the first FA Cup Final in the club’s 138-year history, I have posted a Stoke-on-Trent gallery on Calvin Palmer Photography

Josiah Wedgwood's grave in Stoke Minster church yard, Stoke-on-Trent, England. ©Calvin Palmer 2011. All Rights Reserved.

The B&W images were shot during a visit to the UK in March, my first visit back in 11 years. How I wish I could have made  my second visit in time for this Saturday’s Wembley final. Alas funds do not allow, so it will be the Fox Soccer Channel for me.

The former Carlton Works in Stoke. ©Calvin Palmer 2011. All Rights Reserved.

I was lucky enough to attend the League Cup Final at Wembley in 1972 when Stoke City beat Chelsea 2-1. Although I enjoyed the atmosphere that came with victory, the match itself was a nerve-wracking and tense experience made worse by the fact that I was in the seats. I think I would have coped better in the standing section behind the goal. I usually stood at football matches in those days but outside the ground someone offered me a ticket for the seats in exchange for a standing ticket. That seemed like a good deal at the time.

Although it is 38 years since I last lived in Stoke, I still regard the place as home. When people ask me, “Where are you from?” I always reply, “Stoke, Stoke-on-Trent.” I have never said my place of residence. How could I? It is Stoke that has moulded me, for better or worse, into the person that I am.

It is the kind of place that engenders a fierce sense of loyalty and pride. Don’t ask me why because, in reality, it is a grim industrial place; some would even say a dump but that assertion is the sole preserve of those born or raised there. Anyone else passing such a comment runs the risk of being a candidate for a thick ear or bosted lip.

Add to Technorati Favorites

2 Comments

Filed under Photography, Sports, Stoke City F.C., United Kingdom

2 responses to “Images of home — Stoke

  1. OS

    The old adage is true, duck: You can take the boy out of Stoke, but you can never take Stoke out of the boy. 😉

  2. AndyP

    Ar! The owd tup’s rate!

Leave a Reply

