Weiner does the decent thing — at last!

By Calvin Palmer

The fact that U.S. Rep Anthony Weiner (D-New York) has resigned comes as no surprise. Any politician who sends a picture of his erect penis to a woman he met online and then lies about it has no option but to resign. I cannot figure out what took him so long.

Apparently it takes nearly three weeks for someone like Weiner to grow a pair of balls. A man of honor, integrity, you know those values we come to expect of people holding political office, would have stood down within 24 hours, 48 hours at most, of the scandal breaking.

Weiner addressed the press this afternoon and read from a prepared statement.

“I am here today to again apologize for the personal mistakes I have made and the embarrassment I have caused,” Weiner said. “I make this apology to my neighbors and my constituents, but I make it particularly to my wife, Huma.”

Weiner’s pregnant wife, Huma Abedin, an aide to Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton, was not at her husband’s side at the announcement. And I don’t blame her.

It will be interesting to see if Huma stands by her man in the same way that Hillary stood by Bill. Only time will tell.

I suppose one way Huma could get back at her husband would be to tell him that he is not the father of the child she is expecting. Ouch!!!

So a tawdry chapter of U.S. politics has drawn to a close.

It is to be hoped Weiner seeks professional help. The man clearly has problems that could land him in far more serious trouble than what has occurred these past few weeks.

Somehow, I feel we haven’t heard the last of Anthony Weiner.

[Based on a report by The Washington Post.]

Add to Technorati Favorites

Leave a comment

Filed under News, Photographs, politics

Leave a Reply

